Skip to main content
Topic: Where can I sell a theme? (Read 14329 times) previous topic - next topic

Where can I sell a theme?

Assuming I'm working on some ElkArte theme but I could need some donations: Is there a place for that? :)
-

Re: Where can I sell a theme?

Reply #1

Well, I for one, would think to not sell, but place a donation button somewhere at a download page.

Reply #2

Pfff. People don't donate. I am a translator for quite a bunch of Open Source projects and I place a donation button wherever I can. Don't even dare to think anyone would care. :(
-

Reply #3

As always there are good people and not so good people. And again, rich enough and not rich enough. I guess a thread with screen shots will be useful in your case. I am sure there are a lot of people who are ready to pay for the right theme. Thanks for joining in expanding the theme base.

Reply #4

I am not against the selling of themes and dont get discouraged but I think it is hard to sell one unless you are very well known theme developer.

Reply #5

In ElkArte's case, one of the things that make me think I have a chance is the very small number of available themes. AFAICS there is no one who has a "supported theme" unless it's part of ElkArte's distribution.
-

Reply #6

1. ElkArte is not yet as well known, as other forum software, so, that also is going to affect whether or not people would pay for a theme.

2. There are several themes, on ElkArte's theme's site. http://themes.elkarte.net/

Some are just variants, and some are full themes.

3. With the changes yet to come, I'm not too sure it's worth paying for a theme, that may not be usable, for 1.1, but that's just me. ;)

Reply #7

Updating a theme over larger changes is something I've been doing with WordPress for quite a decade now. I guess ElkArte wouldn't be much more work.  :D
-

Reply #8

Hopefully, it won't be like when I made themes for SMF 2.0 Bravo 4.... ;)