Skip to main content
Topic: Thought about CSS files. (Read 24037 times) previous topic - next topic

Thought about CSS files.

General pondering follows.

Back in early SMF 2.0.x dev days, they played around with the idea of breaking up index.css into smaller files. The way it was done ended up being a PITA, so it was decided to go with one big file, because it cut http requests and arguably made things easier to find.

Problem is that it's more css to parse on every page, so all things considered it's arguably worse for performance. The fastest CSS declaration is the one that doesn't exist.

I was thinking about this stuff last night, and I think I have an idea which could work. Splitting the file up makes sense in the case of admin and moderation stuff, which the vast majority of users/guests will never see. So, I started thinking about which other pages they will hardly ever see.

Over the years I've been using forum software I've found that if, I'm an admin on the site, I will visit the memberlist sometimes (not that often) , the forum stats page even less often, the calendar less often than the stats, and the profile stats pages never (or hardly ever). If I'm not admin, I will hardly ever look at the memberlist or calendar, and the forum and profile stats even less frequently.

This makes four areas that are hardly ever viewed, and if they are combined into one calendar_mlist_stats.css they account for roughly 7kb of CSS at the moment. If someone wants to do something like my SMF memberlist mod, that would increase to around 10 or 11 kb (un-minified). In rough terms, this amounts to about 10% of the total css, so the split may be worthwhile.
Master of Expletives: Now with improved family f@&king friendliness! :D

Sources code: making easy front end changes difficult since 1873. :P

Re: Thought about CSS files.

Reply #1