Skip to main content
Topic: ElkArte & Social media surfaces (Read 770 times) previous topic - next topic

ElkArte & Social media surfaces

I like this ElkArte. In the old days I also used SMF. Maybe I'm very new to the subject, but I have an important question. The last community I want to create (actually I already have it, just bringing it back from FB to the forum world) I want it to be elkarte. However, I found the same bug now as I did in smf . From an advertising point of view, it would be important to share my forum threads on different platforms (FB, Discord). The most important thing -which is why I switched from smf to wordpress- would be to display the preview image of the topic. Unfortunately, it doesn't appear. Even when I add an image to the post. What do you think is the solution to this?

Re: ElkArte & Social media surfaces

Reply #1

1.1.9 (and 2.0 when its done) has an improved metadata module built in. 

It will build

• open graph data (including an image if there is an attachment in the first post, otherwise just your site logo).   This is what is consumed by twitter/FB/etc
  • schema data, this is mostly consumed by search engines, but others use that as well to improve the listings

You view the page source here and see the og meta data at the top and then at the bottom the scheme.org data  It does that on the important pages, not every page in the site as that would be daft.

Reply #2

Quote from: Spuds –  It does that on the important pages, not every page in the site as that would be daft.
Can you please elaborate this? What are the requirements for a page to be important? It is based on the number of replies?
sorry for my bad english

Reply #3

When will it be possible to try 1.1.9 or 2.0?
Unfortunately my English is bad too, so I have to struggle to understand your answer :D
Could you please describe step by step where I can find them?
By the way, it is interesting that not all posts have this "error"