Skip to main content
Topic: I just switched to a VPS (Read 5269 times) previous topic - next topic

I just switched to a VPS

I always choosed a shared hosting for my forums, and that's because I have no knowledge to manage a VPS.  I have a multi-domain shared hosting with cpanel, 50 GB, 1TB traffic and worked well for the last 3 years, but as every shared hosting it has his limits.

I bought a vps from Linode located to London, but this year should be availble a new center in Frankfurt which is very close to Italy.

I discovered ServerPilot.io and in a few minutes I was able to upload my files, my database, etc. It's a very light panel "in the cloud".

QuoteHow ServerPilot Works
ServerPilot is a SaaS platform for hosting PHP websites on Ubuntu servers. You can think of it as a modern, centralized hosting control panel.

ServerPilot does not provide servers. Instead, we make it easy to run your PHP apps on your own servers. Those servers can be cloud servers or VPSes at any provider, or they can even be virtual machines running on your laptop.

Connecting a Server

To manage a server with ServerPilot, you must first connect your server to us. You must start with a completely fresh Ubuntu server. If you've already installed Apache, Nginx, PHP, or MySQL, then the ServerPilot installer won't be able to connect your server to ServerPilot.

We'll give you a command to run that will install the ServerPilot agent on your server. The agent keeps a secure connection open to ServerPilot, does the actual management of your server, and sends back stats and logs.

What ServerPilot Does

All of the software your server needs, such as PHP, MySQL, Nginx, and Apache, will be installed automatically by ServerPilot once your server is connected.

ServerPilot will secure your server with a firewall. It will also update your server's packages and make sure they stay updated.