Skip to main content
Topic: Howdy folks (Read 5020 times) previous topic - next topic

Howdy folks

Found out about this forum project on AAF, thought I'd join up :)

So far, I am really liking what I am seeing here!

Bit about me... I am a forum addict and I've been running forums since the days before PhpBB1. I own several forums and run several software including IP.Board, XenForo, vBulletin 4.x, SMF 2.0, MyBB and I think that is about it. I own AAF which is a fairly large admin forum, run the official forum for the National Skywarn Program website and I also blog quite a bit maintaining several blogs. I am a security manager and I have two degrees... one in Criminal Justice and the other in Emergency Management/Homeland Security and Intelligence/Counter Intelligence. I am now working on a Masters of Business Administration. I've done security most of my life with some construction and coal mining in between. Currently I am trying to get an armed security position at a nuclear facility (Union, Benefits, More money!). I am addicted to cycling... am a photographer and I chase tornadoes. I'm a member of the Masonic fraternity and a Shriner.

I'm 29, male and born and raised in rural southern Illinois...

That's me :)

Re: Howdy folks

Reply #1

Welcome around here! :D

With all the experience about forum and forum software it immediately comes to my mind a pair of double questions: which one is your favourite and why? Which one is the one you hate more and why? O:-)

Security seems a quite popular topic these days all around the world, there should be good opportunities! :)
Bugs creator.
Features destroyer.
Template killer.

Reply #2

Hi Shawn, welcome to the site  :)

Glad you like what you are seeing so far, and if you have suggestions please share.  We have been working on the project for a bit over a year at this point, and right now we are working to complete the 1.0 version, we have the early beta out, and will have an updated beta available soon as well.