Skip to main content
Topic: Some information required (Read 2228 times) previous topic - next topic

Some information required

Greetings from Pakistan:

First things first.  I am totally at sea so far as software is concerned.

That said:

I have been running Forums on the Internet since May 2010.

I have my own domain http://www.commissionedwriting.com. So far as I can say, my hosting company is very good. I don't the problems I am going to talk about have anything to so with my hosting company.

I have used SMF (Simple Machines Forums) software for many years. Over the years the quality and functionality of the software and add-ons (Modifications) thereto has gone down critically.

I used the latest Windows 10 Pro OS, fully updated.

I recently set up an ElkArte Forum at http://commissionedwriting.com/asf/index.php

I have tried many times to upload a small .jpg file which I use as the header at Forums. This file does not show up on the Forums Pages.

I also use News Faders extensively. These show up at top right in the SMF Forums, above the main body of the page. I have not been able to find such a provision in the ElkArte software. 

Most of my Forums are image and video rich. One of the main reasons I want to switch from SMF to another Forums software is because the video embedding modification available for SMF isn't compatible with WIn10 (at least it does NOT work with my Forums, even after trying everything their support people have been able to suggest, including clean re-installs.)

I am a semi-retired perception management practitioner. The Forums I propose to set up will be essentially educational, and extensively feature photos and videos. They will be more or less subject specific, pertaining to the sciences, humanities, and liberal arts. Core content will be entire books, some of them running into several thousand pages.