Skip to main content
Topic: Templating (Read 2016 times) previous topic - next topic

Templating

Good evening!

I just had a peek at ElkArte, and was recommended to it by a friend over using phpBB. I have to say that I am impressed with the features that have come along in such a short time, however have a few curiosities if anyone would be willing to fill me in, I'd be ever grateful.

In my off-time, as both a hobby and contractor, I'm a web developer that focuses heavily on PHP 5.6, SCSS, and HTML5. I have a strong affinity with the Foundation platform as well. Naturally, keeping up with up-to-date technologies and having works that are easy to maintain/update are of interest to me. What type of work would I be looking at for the following:

• Creating a theme, using a new templating engine such as Twig?
  • Developing an addon that would permit easy "switching" (logging in and out) via A.) Master accounts that have "authorized" accounts B.) "Sub-accounts". 
  • Custom BBCodes

An example of the second question would be this. Consider an journalism community that has a group of volunteers maintaining it. There is one primary "staff" account in addition to their own, for maintaining anonymity when offering constructive critique in articles submitted by users on the forum as posts. Every volunteer staff member would need access to said account, but rather than sharing credentials they can simply have it 'linked' to their own, and switch between the two.

Alternatively, the option of creating "sub accounts" or "aliases" under their own may work, though I would prefer the former option.

Writing my own functions is of no foreign nature to me, and I'm more than comfortable diving in. However, as this is a new platform with its own coding guidelines, API and specifications (I believe a new version is due sometime around the holidays as well, if memory serves from what I read), I'd prefer to get insider knowledge from someone who might know the fine details.