Skip to main content
Topic: New to ElkArte, have some questions... (Read 3335 times) previous topic - next topic

New to ElkArte, have some questions...

Hi, I'm administrator in a few forums and recently I discovered ElkArte, and like some addons to the core and the things that you have done with it. I have some experience with SMF,  I and a friend have a very specific MOD to manage Series, Chapters and News in SMF+SimplePortal, and I like to modify some MODs to get what I need, so I have some knowledge of how SMF works.

I want to ask if a feature is not in ElkArte or its addons, can I install SMF MOD in ElkArte and will it works?
Also I want to know what changes need some MOD from SMF to work properly in ElkArte? If I can setup an ElkArte forum I want to install my MOD to work in the forum.

The most important MODs that I use in SMF are:
-Default Signature
-Default Avatar (to keep it nice)
-Personal Messages to Membergroups (as admin want to send PM to a whole Member group, staff mainly)
-Spoiler Tag (modified by me to use jQuery, kind of the spoiler tag here)
-Membergroup ID with Group Name (really need to know the ID of member groups in Admin)
-SimplePortal (best portal for my needs)
-SP Articles RSS (to set up RSS feeds for News with my MOD)
-SimpleColorizer (stylish everywhere)
-Age And Location (always is good to know)

Can I install them? or have ElkArte some of this functionalities already in the core/addon?

Re: New to ElkArte, have some questions...

Reply #1

Quote from: Gluz – I want to ask if a feature is not in ElkArte or its addons, can I install SMF MOD in ElkArte and will it works?
SMF mods will not directly work with ElkArte, they need to be ported over to ElkArte's structure.  Porting MODS from SMF to ElkArte can be, and has been done many times, I've done a bunch of them.