Skip to main content
Topic: Post/reply by email not working? (Read 5178 times) previous topic - next topic

Post/reply by email not working?

Hello all,

I am new to ElkArte but I am really looking forward to using it!

I've tried setting up post/reply by email and it doesn't seem to be working. I've done the following:
-Enabled the core feature
-Added the proper forwarding addresses with piping enabled to the PHP scripts
-Changed permissions of the emailpost and emailtopic files to 755.

Now, nothing seems to happen when I try to reply or post. There's nothing in the PHP error log, and I don't receive any bounced-back messages.

Any suggestions?

Re: Post/reply by email not working?

Reply #1

Make sure the shebang line at the start of emailpost and emailtopic are correct for your system/os ...  Read the leading comment in those files for some help on how to check.

Reply #2

OK, tried changing it, but now I'm getting a bounceback with the following error message:

PHP Notice:  Undefined index: default_forum_action in /home/wdwbbjsw/forum.gtamaid.info/themes/default/Theme.php on line 737

Reply #3

OK ... well at least thats progress, we know the return mail is making it to the system.  I'll have a look into that error.

Reply #4

Thanks so much!

Reply #5

Could you tell me which version of ElkArte you are using?

Reply #6

It's 1.1.3

Reply #7

Could you attach your bootstrap.php file here, I just want to check that its current.

Reply #8

Sure, here it is

Reply #9

That file is fine ... I'm really not sure how you are able to generate that error. 

I just installed 1.1.3 to a test forum and the email reply function worked (after I worked around an unrelated issue that needs to be fixed in 1.1.4)