Skip to main content
Topic: Blocks or widgets (or something) (Read 3414 times) previous topic - next topic

Blocks or widgets (or something)

Few days ago I was staring at SimplePortal PortalBlocks.subs.php and its 2800+ lines of code and I realized I wanted to split it up.
So I thought about it a bit and pushed this "demo" commit, where each block is a file and there is a bit of separation between logic and template (you know, re-use and stuff like this :P).

Yesterday evening, then, I started thinking "hmm... maybe a sidebar could be interesting and useful after all", and so I started coding a quick addon for it (I'll push the code later today, it's very basic, it doesn't even have (yet) the admin panel). Writing this addon I faced mostly the same problem: I needed blocks.

And here it comes the proposal: blocks as part of the core.
But why would we need blocks in the core? Good question, I'm not sure yet. An example would be to provide a sidebar and some blocks to begin with.
The general idea, though, it's to provide a common (very simple) interface to blocks, so that they can be shared among different components. For example: SP and the sidebar, or two different portals, or... anything else.

And what does it mean "blocks as part of the core"? Well, nothing too complicated. Just an interface and/or an abstract class to define the basic needs of a block "version 1.0" (in the example above it would be an interface that defines three methods: settings, setup, render, I have in mind other things that may be handy) and a place where "drop" the blocks (that would be a directory in subs).
Bugs creator.
Features destroyer.
Template killer.

Re: Blocks or widgets (or something)

Reply #1

Nice thinking..

Reply #2

I think its a good idea.   I was thinking about this a bit when the team page request came up, thats kind of a block in a way and something the portal or portal-like think could do.

Reply #3