Skip to main content
Topic: Upgrade charset conversion - I'm stuck (Read 2701 times) previous topic - next topic

Upgrade charset conversion - I'm stuck

Yesterday I tracked the conversion to UTF-8 of the database during the upgrade as release blocker.

Yesterday I started playing with it.
It's doable, there is just one problem I'm not sure how to fix: determine the "source" charset.
In SMF-world, this is done by using the language files (that is quite unreliable if you ask me, but okay), unfortunately, during an upgrade from SMF to ElkArte there is basically no way to be sure 1) the language files are present and 2) where the language files could be.

Any idea how to solve this?
If it is solvable at all.
Should we just rely on the column collation? (Even though it's not reliable as well as far as I understood... :-\)
Bugs creator.
Features destroyer.
Template killer.

Re: Upgrade charset conversion - I'm stuck

Reply #1

I can't immediately think of any "fool proof" way to do this, but I've not really looked in to the issues before.

Seems like you could only trust the column collation if its utf8, other than that you know you are converting.  I'm trying to think of the downside of just using the existing column collation, meaning if for some reason its not correct for the language, I'd think there are (or could be depending on the code point correlation) errors already present (and we are not trying to fix that).

What did SMF do with the language files, I mean in terms of the conversion?

Reply #2

I read the OP incorrectly with my initial response..
You can have it query the collation via mysql whereas SHOW TABLE STATUS should work fine for that.

This little project may interest you: https://github.com/neitanod/forceutf8
The developer claims his routine(s) will convert any mixed collation chars to utf-8.
Last Edit: August 10, 2014, 12:05:31 am by Napalm

Reply #3