Skip to main content
Embedding a webpage on front Started by Hometutor · · Read 23256 times 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. previous topic - next topic

Embedding a webpage on front

Is there an addon that will allow me to embed a webpage on front or perhaps an addon that supports PHP so I could use get file contents.

Rick

Re: Embedding a webpage on front

Reply #1

If you want a different front page, you could try simple portal.  You could do it as a page or php

Reply #2

Quote from: Spuds – If you want a different front page, you could try simple portal.  You could do it as a page or php
It's giving me a bit of a hard time but then I'm self-taught. Is that an addon for Elkartes front page?

Reply #3

Yes. Simple Portal can do that.

Reply #4

:point_up_2:exactly.

It can do many things, but given your recent message about I/O limits, it may not be the best thing for you to use in this case.

You could do something like what we have on this site, where there is an HTML landing page for your base site URL and then the forum is in a /forum or /community directory.   On this site I neglected to add in the top menu button to navigate back to the home page, but that is simply an over site. 

Reply #5

Quote from: Spuds – :point_up_2:exactly.

It can do many things, but given your recent message about I/O limits, it may not be the best thing for you to use in this case.

You could do something like what we have on this site, where there is an HTML landing page for your base site URL and then the forum is in a /forum or /community directory.   On this site I neglected to add in the top menu button to navigate back to the home page, but that is simply an over site.

That's what I ended up doing. I'll give the details below. Even as someone who doesn't work with forums that much, perhaps my slightly outside of the box idea may give someone a spark.

In researching the forum I found a mention of using htaccess. I went with that